Administrator of the Year Program and Scholarship Awards

2022 Administrators of the Year

Assistant Secondary Principal of the Year - Lori Cooling, Mason City
Central Office Administrator of the Year - TBD Spring 2022
Elementary Principal of the Year - TBD Spring 2022
Middle Level Principal of the Year - TBD Spring 2022
Secondary Principal of the Year - TBD Spring 2022
Superintendent of the Year - Noreen Bush, Cedar Rapids

Award Nomination Process

  1. Nominations for 2022 awards closed April 1, 2021. Review respective award criteria before submitting a nomination. 
  2. SAI district officers will review all nominations received for their respective SAI district and submit one nominee per award category. Those nominees must then submit a formal application provided to them by June 30.
  3. A committee of peers will review the formal applications received in each award category, invite three finalists for an interview and select the award recipient.
  4. Recipients are recognized at the association's Annual Conference.

Award Criteria

Guidelines for eligibility and the process for selecting each award's recipients


The official SAI district nominee's completed application must arrive at the SAI office by June 30 for all awards. (See nominations above.)

Past Recipients 

Listing of previous winners by category

SAI Scholarships

SAI annually awards scholarships to graduating seniors in the performing arts. The 2020-21 recipients are:

  • Instrumentalist - Sierra Meyer, a 2021 graduate of Trinity Christian High School, selected by the Iowa Bandmasters Association
  • Speaker - Andrew Kloser, a 2021 graduate of Maquoketa Valley High School, selected by the Iowa High School Speech Association