Elementary Principal of the Year Recognition Awarded to Lucas DeWitt of Spencer


Lucas DeWitt, principal of Fairview, Johnson and Lincoln Elementary Schools in the Spencer Community School District, has been named the 2013 Iowa Elementary Principal of the Year by the School Administrators of Iowa. 

“SAI is pleased to recognize Lucas DeWitt for his outstanding educational leadership,” said Dan Smith, the association’s executive director. “Mr. DeWitt displays an abundance of energy and passion in working with students. He relies on a strong moral code to serve as a role model and as a basis to make decisions every day," Smith added. 

"It is a blessing and privilege to work with the families, students and staff in Spencer each and every day. The teachers' passion to help each student fulfill his or her potential is inspiring, and it is an honor to be associated with such great people that are part of the Spencer Community Schools,” DeWitt expressed. 

This is DeWitt’s ninth year as a principal in the district. He began his career as a teacher in the Hampton-Dumont Community School District. His education includes a bachelor’s degree in elementary education and US and world history from Wartburg College, a master’s degree in history and certification in PK-12 educational administration from Iowa State University and his superintendent certification from the University of Northern Iowa. 

He was nominated by his peers, selected by a committee of Iowa elementary principals, and will be recognized at a governor’s awards ceremony in May. The National Association of Elementary School Principals will also honor him as a National Distinguished Principal this fall in Washington, D.C.