Iowa Middle Level Principal of the Year is from Council Bluffs


Kerry Newman, principal of Kirn Middle School in Council Bluffs, has been named the 2019 Iowa Middle Level Principal of the Year by the School Administrators of Iowa.

Newman expressed, “I certainly feel humbled and honored to be named the Middle School Principal of the Year and to represent the outstanding educational leaders in our state. I feel especially blessed to have the opportunity to accept this in light of the exciting and innovative work happening at Kirn Middle School and in the Council Bluffs Community School District. I am extremely proud of the purposeful, collective approach to support our students and promote student learning and academic growth, as well as the culture of kindness, and the accomplishments of our amazing students. A genuine spirit of continuous improvement at Kirn is palpable, which is the key reason staff and students are able to exceed expectations and achieve more. I am fortunate to be part of this dedicated, caring Kirn community and thank my colleagues for the opportunity to represent them.” 

“Kerry has worked hard and accomplished much in order to be honored by her peers. Her focus on student engagement has helped transform Kirn Middle School into a model of how a school can have it all: students who are developing their love of learning as they gain the skills needed at the next level. Kerry is an example of just how much leadership matters,” stated SAI Executive Director Roark Horn.

Kirn principal since 2015, Newman was previously director of secondary education for the district. Her education career began as a high-school math teacher in Malvern. She received her bachelor’s degree in secondary education and mathematics, a master’s degree in secondary education in the math and technology program, and a master’s in educational administration, all from the University of Nebraska at Omaha.

A committee of Iowa middle level principals selected Newman, and she will be recognized at an awards ceremony at the State Capitol in May and the association’s Annual Conference in July.