Jim Murray of Vinton-Shellsburg is the 2017 Elementary Principal of the Year


Jim Murray, principal of Tilford Elementary School in the Vinton-Shellsburg Community School District, has been named the 2017 Iowa Elementary Principal of the Year by the School Administrators of Iowa.

“It is an honor for our state to have Jim Murray represent us as the next Elementary Principal of the Year. His ability to motivate staff and students, and really focus on building relationships and establishing a positive building climate is inspiring to us all,” SAI Executive Director Roark Horn emphasized.                     

“I sincerely appreciate the recognition from my SAI colleagues. It’s my privilege to serve with outstanding elementary staff members who work as a team doing what’s best for students. They deserve the credit for Tilford Elementary School's accomplishments. Our district has great kids and supportive parents. I’m grateful to the Vinton-Shellsburg school board members for the opportunity to lead Tilford Elementary and to the other district administrative leaders who push me to learn and improve,” Murray commented.        

Murray has served as Tilford’s principal since 2003. Prior to that, he was an elementary principal at Independence Community Schools. He began his career as an elementary teacher in the former Wall Lake View Auburn Community School District. His education includes a bachelor’s degree in elementary education from Iowa State University and his master’s degree in school administration and leadership from Buena Vista University.