Keokuk Leader is Iowa Secondary Principal of the Year


Zach Wigle, principal of Keokuk High School, has been named the 2016 Iowa Secondary Principal of the Year by School Administrators of Iowa.

“Mr. Wigle rose to the top of the field of outstanding candidates,” said SAI Executive Director Roark Horn. “His work at Keokuk High School exemplifies what leaders can accomplish when they have vision, energy and a passion for what’s best for students,” Horn shared.

Reflecting on his award, Wigle expressed, “The most memorable moments I have had in education have happened throughout my journey as a lead learner and I wouldn't give any of them back. I have learned more in the past six years than I did in my previous experiences in education, and my hope is that the students and adults I have worked with feel the same way. We have an amazing staff in Keokuk, and the ability to embrace challenge and change is a constant reminder as to why I love what I do.”

Wigle has led Keokuk High School since 2013 and was previously an associate principal at Ottumwa High School. He began his career as an elementary physical education teacher in Ottumwa. His education includes a bachelor’s degree in physical education from Luther College and a master’s degree in education administration from Grand Canyon University.

He was nominated by his peers and selected as the recipient by a committee of Iowa secondary principals. He will be recognized at a governor’s awards ceremony in May and the association’s Annual Conference in August.