Mason City's Dan Phipps selected Iowa Assistant Secondary Principal of the Year


School Administrators of Iowa has named Dan Phipps, associate principal at Mason City High School, as the 2020-21 Iowa Assistant Secondary Principal of the Year.

Selection is based on the Iowa Standards for School Leaders, which focus on

- a vision of learning;

- the presence of a school culture and instructional program that is beneficial to student learning and staff professional development;

- a safe, efficient and effective learning environment;

- work with parents and the community;

- fairness, integrity and ethics; and

- an understanding of the larger political, social, economic, legal and cultural context in which we operate.

In response to his recognition, Phipps emphasized, “I’m proud of the staff and students and the resilience we’ve shown working through these tough times since March dealing with the pandemic and how we’ve pulled together to accomplish goals and make things work. I’m proud to be a part of this amazing staff.”

SAI Executive Director Roark Horn commented, “Dan exemplifies what every school leader aspires to be: caring, solution-focused and inspirational. He chooses to utilize his vast talent and skills to elevate others to be their best selves. He will be an exemplary representative for all secondary assistant principals over the next year.”

Phipps has served in a leadership capacity at Mason City High School since 2017. His career began as a physical education and health teacher in Clinton. He holds a bachelor’s degree in education from St. Ambrose University and his master’s in educational administration from Western Illinois University.

A committee of Iowa assistant secondary principals selected Phipps for the award. He will be recognized during SAI's Annual Conference in August. As Iowa’s recipient, Phipps is a candidate for National Assistant Principal of the Year, an award sponsored by the National Association of Secondary School Principals. He will have an opportunity to participate in the organization’s annual conference and be recognized during the event.

Learn more about Iowa's Administrator of the Year awards.