Tom Lane recognized as a Friend of the Association

SAI President Rick Varney of Decorah (left) presents Tom Lane with the Friend of the Association award.

Tom Lane, an advocate for Iowa's AEAs, was presented with the Friend of the Association award September 11 at the School Administrators of Iowa Annual Meeting.

SAI's Friend of the Association award is intended to provide due recognition to any individual or group of individuals who have given of themselves in special, unselfish ways to enhance educational excellence in Iowa. Lane is the 31st recipient since the award's inception in 1986.

These words of support accompanied his nomination:

"He has a long history of supporting public education with his words and actions. As a superintendent in the metro Des Moines area, because of his close proximity to the Capitol, he felt it was his responsibility to make frequent trips to advocate for students and share how legislation or other actions would directly impact students and schools across the state.

When he decided to leave the role of the superintendent, he felt compelled to continue in his role of serving others and has used his talents as he served the AEAs across the state. In this role, he worked to build a stronger understanding of the critical role AEAs play in supporting students’ learning. Additionally, he built positive relationships among and between legislators, the governor’s office, IASB, SAI, ISFIS, and local educators.

He did this with his honesty and directness; his use of research and data; his demeanor and respectfulness; and, most importantly, his passion for kids. 

Another one of his talents is his ability to see the good in others and his interest in continuously encouraging all of us to be the best we can be – even during challenging and trying times."

Lane recently retired as AEA Executive Director and will continue to assist with lobbying for the AEAs. He previously served as superintendent for the Carlisle Community School District and was named Iowa Superintendent of the Year in 2013.