Trent Grundmeyer of Indianola is Iowa Secondary Principal of the Year


Trent Grundmeyer, principal of Indianola High School, has been named the 2013 Iowa Secondary Principal of the Year by School Administrators of Iowa.

“Indianola High School and the community have benefited from Dr. Grundmeyer’s leadership,” said SAI Executive Director Dan Smith. “His efforts to realign the school’s curriculum to match the Iowa Core academic expectations for students, decrease the dropout rate, develop methods to evaluate instructional practices district-wide, update service-learning programming and provide college-level vocational programs are just a few of the noteworthy contributions he has made,” Smith expressed.

“I truly believe in a collaborative approach to meeting the needs of students. Students deserve the best experience in school they can possibly have to be college and career ready. Only by pooling the collective knowledge and skills of professionals who serve them can the needs of all students be met,” Grundmeyer shared.

Grundmeyer has led Indianola High School since 2010, and was previously principal at Hampton-Dumont High School. He began his career as a sixth through eighth grade health teacher for the Waukee Community School District. His education includes a bachelor’s degree from Buena Vista University, a master’s in education from Drake University, and superintendent certification and a doctorate in education administration from Iowa State University. 

Reflecting on the award Grundmeyer added, “I am humbled and honored to be named Secondary Principal of the Year. This honor is a tribute to the collaborative efforts those I have been able to work with have made to improve educational experiences and opportunities for students. I will represent our state the best I can.”

He was nominated by his peers, selected as the recipient by a committee of Iowa secondary principals and will be recognized at a governor’s awards ceremony in May. As Iowa’s honoree, Grundmeyer is now a candidate for for National High School Principal of the Year sponsored by the National Association of Secondary School Principals and MetLife.