At SAI's February 4 Executive Leaders event, college representatives, workforce development managers, school leaders and select business leaders from the same geographic regions were grouped in teams with the purpose of growing relationships, identifying next steps, and articulating each of our respective roles as we work toward our goal of meeting the learning needs of our K-12 students. Read more »


SAI leadership in January approved the association’s Strategic Framework, a project recommended by the Representative Council at its September meeting. The document outlines and defines the work of our organization. Read more »


You have no doubt heard that Congress passed—and the President signed into law—the Every Student Succeeds Act. It is the first iteration of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act, currently known as No Child Left Behind to reach the President’s desk since December 2001.

ESSA represents a significant improvement over current law. The legislation takes the pendulum of federal overreach and control, and returns it back to state and local education agencies. Read more »