SAI Executive Leaders

The Executive Leaders group was formed to replace City Superintendents of Iowa that voluntarily disbanded in support of creating a new entity. This group is under the auspices of SAI.

Membership is open to any Iowa school superintendent who is an SAI member. Contact the SAI office to join. The purpose of SAI Executive Leaders is to provide strategic leadership for system improvements that will result in quality educational outcomes for Iowa’s youth.
The group was formed in recognition of the unique contributions all superintendents can make to systems improvements and will focus on four strategies:
Strategy 1 – Collective Advocacy
Strategy 2 – Collective Growth
Strategy 3 – Collective Celebrations
Strategy 4 – Collective Partnerships 
There will be at least two meetings annually, one to occur in the fall and the other in January. A user fee of $60 will be assessed to each superintendent who wishes to be a member to offset meeting costs.  
If you have questions, please contact members of SAI Executive Leaders Steering Committee or SAI staff members.

2023-24 Steering Committee members:

Chair Erin Slater, Fort Madison CSD, representing Great Prairie AEA
Vice Chair Dan Butler, Western Dubuque CSD, representing Keystone AEA superintendents 
Greg Batenhorst, Mount Vernon CSD, representing Grant Wood AEA superintendents 
John Cain, South Tama County CSD, representing Central Rivers AEA superintendents
Justin Daggett, Manson-NW Webster CSD, representing Prairie Lakes AEA superintendents
Devin Embray, Glenwood CSD, representing Green Hills AEA superintendents
Dirk Halupnik, Southeast Polk CSD, representing UEN superintendents
Heather Holm, South Hamilton, representing 1A school superintendents
Brent Jorth, Central Lyon CSD, representing Northwest AEA superintendents
Mike Kruger, West Fork CSD, representing 2A school superintendents
Dan Mart, Prairie Lakes AEA, representing AEA chief administrators
Trevor Miller, IKM-Manning and Exira-EHK CSDs, representing SAI's Executive Committee
Kerri Nelson, Shenandoah CSD, representing 3A school superintendents
Rich Powers, Bondurant-Farrar CSD, representing Heartland AEA superintendents 
TJ Schneckloth, Davenport CSD, representing 4A school superintendents 
Mike VanSickle, Louisa-Muscatine CSD, representing Mississippi Bend AEA superintendents

SAI staff:

Lisa Remy, SAI executive director